100 Japanese Things

In Which 100 Japanese Things Shall Be Revealed, So That You May Learn Much Japanese From Them

Sign #1: Monthly Parking in the Land of Dang Tricky July 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Saleem @ 5:55 am

Ooh, our first sign submission:

Gah, it’s so wee and hard to make out! Do you hate it? *

From Scott, who works as a translator in a building a few hundred meters from my desk. He says:

the text reads: 月極有料駐車場
I think this is one of those signs that people see and understand, but might have a hard time reading because of the first two characters, which are read つきぎめ and mean monthly or by the month.

So, we have:

月極有料 ( つきぎめ  ゆうりょう)

駐車場 ( ちゅうしゃじょう )

(i.e. a parking lot that charges a monthly fee)

SIDENOTE: Dude in my office said (rough translation): “Yeah, that’s a mysterious bit of Japanese, right? Lots of kids would get that wrong, pronouncing it like “tsukigoku” or something.”

Then he handed me a kanji history of 極 (**), which apparently referred to a tree in a very high location in ancient Chinese. Yup.

* ‘Cause it’s pieces of you-ooh?

** We also see this kanji lots in words like 北極 (north pole), etc.

 

2 Responses to “Sign #1: Monthly Parking in the Land of Dang Tricky”

  1. The first time I saw signs that said 月極, I guessed 「げっきょく」. When I couldn’t find it in my dictionary, I tried every other combination of readings I knew and still couldn’t find it. Then I finally asked somebody and learned it was つきぎめ. I keep forgetting it though. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. saleem Says:

    Hey, thanks for the comment. This one was actually new for me. One of those signs that I saw around but never really read…

    We’ll post some signs that have odd kanji, some that are just fun, and some that are pretty normal :) Feel free to send over any quirky ones you like… Guest post maybe ? :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.